Running Injuries and Making Running My Biatch…

R.O.D.

The Running Injury GameRunning injuries. There’s nothing quite like them to knock you down when you’re feeling close to your physical best. Fortunately, I haven’t had to deal with one in many years (broken bones and torn MCLs from snowboarding are a different story). That was until my Boston Marathon experience. At mile 11 when my IT band decided to give out on me, I had two choices: Limp my way off the course or limp my way off the course, get taped up, and get my ass back out there. Anyone who knows me knows that I chose option #2.

 

Was this the best choice for my aging knees? Of course not! But was it the best choice for my can-do, won’t-back-down-in-the-face-of-a-challenge attitude towards life? You bet your bootay it was. Despite the pain I felt (and we’re talking extreme pain–imagine someone taking a metal filing stick to the side of your knee and repeatedly filing away at your bones), I felt more satisfaction than I have in quite some time simply because I didn’t quit.

 

I didn’t flake out on myself or my friend, Dr. Touqes, who thankfully refused to leave me behind. I remained as positive as possible (yes, I cried), but I still had my big girl pants on so I persevered all the way to the finish line. We’re talking serious mind over matter gumption here. And I was (and still am) very proud that I managed to finish, despite running my worst marathon time ever.

 

Needless to say, the past month has been filled with no running, very little biking, and plenty of stretching and strengthening exercises all in the name of gearing up for my Chicago training. Let’s just say that this does not make for one very happy Jen. To go from exercising almost every day to doing nothing but chasing my crazy kitties around my house has been quite the change for me. Luckily, it’s all about to end as I embark on one of my favorite types of running events this weekend: The 24-hour relay.

 

For 24ish hours and 200 miles, I will be riding around in a stinky van with 5 other people. By the end of the day on Saturday, I’ll have logged 22.5 miles for this spring’s Reach the Beach Relay. Considering I went out with a bang after the Boston Marathon, I feel it’s only fitting to come back in with an even larger bang. Did I mention I’ll also be running the Harpoon 5-miler on Sunday?

 

Hell yeah, babies. It’s on like Donkey Kong.

 

Running, prepare to be made my biatch. You may have kicked my arse last month, but I can guarantee that I’ll be the victor this weekend!

 

R.O.D.

 

Nothing to rant about today? Whoa, Nelly! Be prepared for some serious raving in the near future. Same bat time, same bat channel….

 

 

Leave Me Some Love!

